Archives for category: Conference

EUROTAS 2014

European Transpersonal Association (EUROTAS) Conference 2014: Metamorphosis – Disintegration, Integration, conscious Living. Crete, October 1-5, 2014. [Link]

A couple of years ago, when I was writing my masters thesis in Tibetan and Buddhist studies, I would occasionally browse the internet for procrastination. One night, I ended on the Wikipedia page on transpersonal psychology and thought to myself: “Wow, it would be really interesting to get involved in this.”

It wasn’t until this year that I was able to follow up on this feeling by becoming a volunteer at the XVI EUROTAS Conference in Crete. Helping to run the conference part of the time, I also had the chance to attend lectures and workshops and participate in the transpersonal community, getting to know its approaches to practice and research along the way. Read the rest of this entry »

ISCS2014

Mind and Life International Symposium for Contemplative Studies. October 30 – November 2, 2014. Boston, MA.

Website | Schedule | Program

“The International Symposium for Contemplative Studies [ISCS] seeks to encourage and help shape a cohesive interdisciplinary field of contemplative studies in which basic and applied science, scholarship, education, the arts, and contemplative traditions collaboratively develop an integrated way of knowing.” [Organizer]

I’ve come all the way from Vienna to attend this event. And just reading the 120-page program and about all the different topics covered in this symposium blows my mind! No wonder, this year’s edition of the ISCS features more than 100 concurrent sessions and 200 posters, next to a number of keynote addresses and master lectures.

Even if you’re unable to attend, you can get a glimpse on what’s going on by following the tweets about #iscs2014 hashtag on Twitter. And here’s a couple of short clips by some of the keynote speakers. Oh, and you can watch ten keynotes and lectures of the first ISCS (Denver, 2012) here.

Read the rest of this entry »

awake in the world (1)Free Online Event: Awake in the World. October 19-24, 2014, Shambhala Mountain Center.

Registration | Event schedule and details

Summary “Join us for this free online event exploring mindfulness in our health, work and relationships as a path to personal and social transformation. Each evening will include a live evening presentation and feature videos with insights and practical tools for waking up in your everyday life. Each live evening presentation will begin at 5:00 PDT / 6:00 MDT / 7:00 CDT / 8:00 EDT.” [Organizer]

Read the rest of this entry »